Be able to delete old files with redirections.xml
Using redirections.xml to exclude folders such as cache and temporary folders. In case you exclude a folder in the xml file, only data added to the folder after the exclusion will not be kept in the profile container. But old data in an existing profile container will stay there. Then you need cleanup scripts to do that part. Why not be able to do that from redirections.xml?
This has been added to the backlog, but we do not have an ETA yet.
I agree this should be added sooner rather than later, including the auto defrag/shrink option at logoff.
FSLogix is just written by amateurs - very clever what it does but come on - functionality is woeful - why have they not learnt from every other profile solution
You add an exclusion in retrospect and it doesn't clean up the files/folders that were created before
Can't exclude individual files
Can't exclude using wildcards
Can't exclude registry
No feature to compact the VHD(x) at logoff - which of course wouldn't matter as the retrospect exclusion wouldn't get tidied anyways
Citrix UPM were a little late with the 'Logon exclusion check' but you ask and you get - this thread is over a year old
We are having the same problem, and it is a big one. Overall we are extremely happy with FSLogix, but it seems unreal, a profile management tool is allowing a ballooning effect. This should have been thought and resolved as soon as this product hit the market. The amount of administrative work to clean profiles this gives admins is beyond hectic, also the constant need to keep adding space. We also don't understand how resolving this is not the higher priority.
Yes, add new option (4) to move files from excluded folders to base, see below
Then old file/folders you want to exclude will free up space in vhd/vhdx.
<VALUE> should be replaced with one of the following values:
0 = No files copied in or out. (Note: the copy tag may be left out entirely and the action will be the same as setting to 0. Only the folder(s) are created on the local_<user_name> directory.)
1 = Copy files to base. Any existing file in an excluded folder will be copied to base.
2 = Copy files back to virtual profile. Any modified file in base will be copied back to profile on user sign-out.
3 = Files are copied from/to base. Combinations options 1 and 2.
4 = Move files to base. Any existing file in an excluded folder will be Moved to base.
Dominic Ottiger commented
We are facing the same Issue like Kim wrote. Citrix UPM can handle this. Also not from the beginning, but that was a great feature which came with the newer Versions. Manually Cleanup after an Exclusion is a huge Admin overhead.
The comment from the first reply is wrong the data will not be deleted from the vhdx. Sure if you browse the folder after the logon you will see an emty folder but that is because it's redirected to the local_username profile. if you check the vhdx after the logoff you will see that the excluded data is still there
We really need an ability to do this out of the box with fslogix.
If you choose the right option for your redirections the data in the profile container is removed.
For instance here is one of mine (I wrote a script to create this at logon)
Exclude Copy=0 will basically delete everything in the folder
<Exclude Copy="0">AppData\Local\Google\Chrome\User Data\Default\Cache</Exclude>
<Exclude Copy="0">AppData\Local\Google\Chrome\User Data\Default\Local Storage</Exclude>
<Exclude Copy="0">AppData\Local\Google\Chrome\User Data\Default\Storage</Exclude>
<Exclude Copy="0">AppData\Local\Google\Chrome\User Data\Default\GPUCache</Exclude>
<Exclude Copy="0">AppData\Local\Google\Chrome\User Data\Default\Sync Data</Exclude>
<Exclude Copy="0">AppData\Local\Google\Chrome\User Data\Default\blob_storage</Exclude>
<Exclude Copy="0">AppData\Local\Google\Chrome\User Data\Default\IndexedDB</Exclude>
<Exclude Copy="0">AppData\Local\Google\Chrome\User Data\Default\Code Cache</Exclude>